On October 4, 2023, Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB 616, amending California’s Paid Sick Leave Laws, with the changes set to take effect on January 1, 2024.
SB 616 extends California’s existing Paid Sick Leave time from 24 hours or three days to 40 hours or five days. Employers may limit the use of Sick Time to 40 hours or five days, for each calendar year, year of employment, or 12-month period.
If an employer utilizes an accrual model instead of offering a lump sum, employees must accrue at least one hour of Paid Sick Leave time for every 30 hours worked. For employers using the accrual method, any remaining accrued Paid Sick Leave time must carry over to the next calendar year, year of employment, or 12-month period.
SB 616 is applicable to virtually all employees working in California for the same employer for 30 or more days within a year. Therefore, it is crucial for employers to make the necessary preparations to ensure compliance with this new law.
For more information on SB 616 and to update your Paid Sick Leave policies, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This material is provided for informational purposes only. It is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor does it create a client-lawyer relationship between MNK Law and any recipient. Recipients should consult with counsel before taking any actions based on the information contained within this material.